Mosaic with some of the current staff in our Workgroup
Petrology and Geochemistry


The Petrology and Geochemistry Workgroup comprises the Chairs in Physical-Chemical Mineralogy (Prof. Sumit Chakraborty) and of Experimental Petrology and Geochemistry (Prof. Raúl Fonseca)

The Workgroup

Sumit Chakraborty
Prof. Sumit Chakraborty
Prof. Raúl Fonseca
Photo - Beyer
Dr. Christopher Beyer
Dohmen - Photo
Dr. Ralf Dohmen
Dr. Thomas Fockenberg
Niels Jöns
Dr. Niels Jöns
Photo - Schertl
Dr. Hans-Peter Schertl during an Excursion in Chile
Evgeny Pogorolev
Dr. Evgeny Pogorolev
Linda Sobolewski
Liam Hoare
Dr. Liam Hoare
Yu Xu
Yu Xu
Photo - Bissbort
Dr. Thilo Bissbort
Maria Dias
Maria Antunes Dias MSc.
Duan - Photo
Wenyong Duan
Jennifer Primocerio
Guangmin Sun
Guangmin Sun
Lingquan Zhao (in Gyantse County, Tibet)
Willner - Photo
Dr. Arne Willner in Chile
Photo - Klein
Prof. Dr. Sabine Klein
Photo - Maresch
Prof. Dr. em. Walter Maresch
Prof. Li Xu-Ping
Dr. Klaus-Dieter Grevel
Ute Gundert
Kirsten Keppler
Kirsten Keppler
Rebecca Hartmann - Student assistant
Julius Eschenauer (4. Semester)
Julius Eschenauer (4. Semester)

At least 72% of our students and post-docs have been able to find job placement immediately after their stay in our workgroup. Below you will be able to see where some of our former colleagues are up to now.


Jobs - Petro
Job placement distribution of former students and staff of the Petrology and Geochemistry Workgroup


Quite a few students and staff members have journeyed through our workgroup. Find out more about who they were and what they are now below:

Photo - Thomas Müller
Prof. Dr. Thomas Müller (University of Göttingen)
Juliane Gross
Prof. Juliane Gross
Ter Heeg
Dr. Jan ter Heeg (Formerly Research Associate RUB)
Kathi Faak
Dr. Kathrin Faak
Dr. Priyadarshi Chowdhury
Dr. Sampriti Basak
Rebecca Volkmann
Laura Jonas
Dr. Laura Jonas
Cäcilia Felgentreu

Aitor Cambeses - current location: University of Granada, Spain

Nils Brohson - current location: Deutsche Glasfaser

Niklas Ottersberg - current location: Kriminaltechnik Polizei NRW

Tim Kusters - current location: Carbolite Gero GmbH & Co. KG

Jonas Bals - current location: Universität Duisburg-Essen

Sabrina Schwinger - current location: Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) Institut für Planetenforschung

Maren Kahl - current location: Universität Heidelberg, Deutschland

Rilana Golner - current location: TAUW International

Patrick Remmert - current location: GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences, Helmholtz Centre Potsdam, Germany

Katharina Vogt - current location: Hochschule Bochum, International Geothermal Center

Stella Konietzko - current location: TU Clausthal, Institut für Aufbereitung, Deponietechnik und Geomechanik (IFAD)

Rauno Baese - current location: CAU Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel, Institut für Geowissenschaften

Julianne Gross - current location: Rutgers University, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, USA

Benjamin Jagenburg - current location: Wessling GmbH, Bochum

Lars Zilch - current location: PLEdoc GmbH, Essen

Sven Kuthning - current location: Imperial College, London

Frauke Petersen - current location: GNS Gesellschaft für Nuklear-Service, Stabsabteilung Grundsatzfragen Endlagerung

Laura Speich - current location: University of Bristol, Department of Earth Science

Katharina Marger - current location: Université de Lausanne, Institut des sciences de la Terre

Kevin Rokitta - current location: WZR ceramic solutions Gmbh

Lisa Rummel - current location: J.G. Universität Mainz, Institut für Geowissenschaften

Andreas Hertwig - current location: University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI, USA

Joana Polednia - current location: Universität Bayreuth, Bayerisches Geoinstitut

Hanna Bobrowski - current location: Aarhus University, Aarhus, Denmark

Alexandre Potrafke - current location: Universität Innsbruck, Innsbruck, Austria

Jan Sessing - current location: Deutsches Bergbaumuseum, Bochum

Marlene Drezler - current location: Arccon Ingenieurgesellschaft, Germany

Photo - Otto
Agnes Otto
Daniela Kortengräber