ExpGeoph group photo Summer 2023
Experimental Geophysics


Prof. Dr. Joerg Renner
Head of the Working Group

Dr. Victoria Jiménez

Dr. Evangelos Korkolis

Fahim Mumand
PhD student

Zahoor Noori
PhD student

Bhupesh Meher
Guest researcher, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel.

Frank Bettenstedt

Frank Bettenstedt
Laboratory Technician
IB 03/156
Tel.: +49 (0)234 32-26198

Sandra Wagner
IA 4/69
Tel.: +49 (0)234 32-23270
office-geophysik % ruhr-uni-bochum.de

Dr. Yan Cheng

Judith Orilski
PhD student

Daniel Reinhoff
PhD student

Dr. Sarah Incel
PostDoc, until 2022

Dr. Marieke Rempe
PostDoc, until 2022

Dr. Dongmei Yu
PhD student and PostDoc, until 2021

Dr. Bernard Adero
PhD student, until 2021
"Experimental investigations of mechanical anisotropy of Freiberg gneiss: implications for hydraulic stimulation"

Dr. Hongwei Yang
PostDoc, until 2021

Dr. Max Kewel
PhD student, until 2020
"Experimental investigations into the hydro-mechanical properties of rocks containing fractures"

Dr. Peter Achtziger
PostDoc, until 2020

Dr. Benedikt Ahrens
PhD student, until 2017
"Experimental analysis of the frequency dependence of elastic and hydraulic properties of fractured rocks"

Dr. Thomas Andolfsson
PhD student, until 2017
"Thermal properties of rocks: A periodic solution of thermal diffusion and its application to the pressure dependency of thermal properties"

Dr. Mariela Hernandez
PhD student, until 2017
"Experimental investigation into the evolution of hydraulic properties of fractured rocks at conditions representative of deep geothermal reservoirs"

Dr. Michael Krause
PhD student, until 2017
"Experimental investigation of propagation mechanisms of stimulation-induced fractures under in-situ conditions"

Dr. Laura Fischer
PhD student, until 2016
"Auswertung von freien Druckschwingungen in Bohrlochversuchen und erzwungenen Druckschwingungen in Laborversuchen zur Bestimmung hydraulischer Eigenschaften"

Dr. Mandy Duda
PhD student/PostDoc until 2014
now in the working group Engineering Geology and Rock Mechanics
"An integrated experimental study on elastic and inelastic properties of sandstones and the role of transient pore pressure"

Dr. Tom Mitchell
PostDoc, 11/2009 - 11/2011

Eugen Petkau
PhD student, 03/2007 - 09/2011

Audrey Tison
PhD student, 09/2006 - 12/2010

Dr. Insun Song
2003 - 2008

Dr. Alexis Maineult
10/2005 - 06/2006

Dr. Jan ter Heege
07/2002 - 12/2005

Alexander Graphchikov
2003 & 2005

Dr. Anthony Druiventak
PhD student, until 2013
"Experimental high-stress deformation and annealing of peridotite – simulating coseismic deformation and postseismic creep in the upper mantle of the oceanic lithosphere"